A Tribute to Jackie

The news of Jackie Collins’ death has left me stunned, shocked, and saddened to the core. Without exaggeration, she was, in my opinion, one of the most influential and relevant contemporary fiction writers of our time. I can remember discovering my first Jackie Collins novel as a young teen. I found myself quickly transported into a world so different from my own.  It was a first for me to read about people and places I had never seen in my everyday, Midwestern city; or in my everyday Catholic school-driven, sheltered and censored life. It was a little raunchy and racy; addictive in its power to seduce and surprise. The language and the characters instantly drew me in and the scandal — oh, was I hooked! Moreover, from the moment I closed the first of many sizzling Collins novels to come, I knew with certainty that I wanted to some day be like Jackie.  I wanted to write such pulse-tingling and insatiable stories. I wanted to be a bestselling author, like Jackie.

Jackie Collins’ remarkable career spanned four decades in which she sold over 500 million books worldwide — every one making it to best-selling status. The accolades go on and on. Her novels have been translated into 40 languages with eight of her books adapted to the screen. She even wrote five books since her diagnosis of breast cancer six years ago, during a battle she kept hidden from the world of faithful readers and fans. What Jackie has given to the world cannot be measured in statistics or sales. It lives in the hearts and minds of those she touched with her work and continued to entertain right up until the end; an end that has come all too soon.

Jackie was flair and style and punch. She was a force; fearless and bold; beautiful and brave. She defined the genre that put her in a league of her own. Her spirit, no doubt will live on in her unforgettable characters and novels. Rest in peace, stunning, talented, and fierce, Jackie.

We will see you in the words and hold you in our hearts…forever.

Leave a Reply

